fried chicken

Was rushing furiously to my JC to watch my grand-to-the-nth-degree-juniors perform at a special event, held in the evening of Sept 11. (This situation seems to happen every year! Evidently, I never learn! :P) Waited for 171 at Newton MRT. After an eternity, it finally arrived, completely packed to the gills. I sighed and knew I was never gonna make it on time.

So…… I went for dinner instead! :D

Since I was near Balmoral Plaza, which houses the cult favourite Waffletown, I decided it was a good time to go and try them.

They specialize in fried chicken, so I ordered a two piece chicken set ($7.50), which consists of two pieces of chicken (obviously!), one scoop of mashed potatoes and another scoop of coleslaw, and a soft drink.

I had heard many raves about Waffletown’s chicken, so I had pretty high expectations, and tore into the meat eagerly. But alas! While the chicken was hot, crispy and somewhat juicy, it just wasn’t flavourful enough for me. I’d rank it behind Popeye’s and KFC.

I’m not a particularly big eater, but I found the portions rather small. After finishing everything, I was still hungry, so I smsed Gabriel, a Waffletown fan, to find out what else was nice. He replied ‘cheese fries’ so I ordered that ($2.50).

Took a pseudo-artistic shot:

The fries are hot and crispy, and the cheese gravy isn’t too bad, but I wish they gave more of it! :P

Overall, I find Waffletown nothing spectacular, but I won’t write it off just yet. Would definitely come back and try their other speciality, which is…… waffles of course! :P

Waffletown
271 Bukit Timah Road
#01-02
Balmoral Plaza
Singapore 259708
+65 6836 6536

3 Responses to “fried chicken”


  1. 1 seian Monday, 20 February, 2012 at 4:16 pm

    I missed their cheesy fries, wedges adn waffles….


  1. 1 maf ’10! « q u i r k y h i l l Trackback on Tuesday, 19 October, 2010 at 2:30 pm

Leave a Reply

wordpress visitor counter

