a japanese dinner

Exactly six weeks ago on 8 August, met Zhi Yun (Poppish Princess) for dinner at the Central. Hadn’t seen her in eons!!!

So we walked around a bit and decided to have ramen in the end. Joined the queue outside Marutama Ramen. Waited for about 15 minutes, and there was finally a table for two!

There were these two girls in front of us, but when the wait staff came out to see who were in pairs, one of them had gone to the washroom. So PP and I got their table instead! YAYYY. (I know, cheap thrill.)

PP and I ordered the same thing – the eponymous Marutama ramen with an extra ajitsuke tamago.

Slurped up a bit of the steaming chicken stock – it was practically bursting with umami! The noodles were QQ enough! The spring onions added colour and crunch! And the slice of pork, although slightly chewy, was marbled with enough fat – just what I like!

I’ve also long heard of Marutama’s famous ajitsuke tamago: hard boiled on the outside and soft boiled on the inside, just perfect! However, as I do not appreciate runny yolk, I submerged the egg in the soup until the insides were fully cooked. Now that is what I consider perfectly done. :)

PP ordered another portion of noodles for her leftover soup, and I drank most of mine. It was that good!

Possibly one of the best ramen I’ve ever had!!!!!!

Then we went looking for desserts. Checked out the shop directory to see what they had to offer. There was Gong Cha, which I hadn’t tried yet, so I wanted to get a cup.

But PP dissuaded me by saying something to the effect of Gong Cha being little more than sugar water and barely had any tea taste! :(

So we decided to have Japanese gelato from Haato & Co! I had hazelnut, and treated PP to cookies and cream. My hazelnut tasted exactly like Nutella without the chocolate, HAHA. (No photos, though!)

Then we sat in the atrium and crapped until it grew late and it was time to go home.

Marutama Ramen
8 Eu Tong Sen Street
#03-90
The Central
Singapore 059818
+65 6534 8090

Haato & Co
8 Eu Tong Sen Street
#01-74
The Central
Singapore 059818
+65 6225 6956

Leave a Reply

wordpress visitor counter

