ceci n’est pas un gâteau de noël

My family and I (minus the brother) had a simple zhi char dinner on Christmas Eve last year. Before dinner, I told my mum that I wanted to buy a cake, and she thought I meant few slices from a neighbourhood bakery. -_-”’ After dinner, I finally told her I was serious about getting a cake – a whole cake! Then I quickly walked to one of the nearby malls to get a cake for Christmas.

After a bit of looking around, I settled on a Guanaja cake from Rive Gauche and lugged all big and bulky 1.29 kg of it home happily. Without waiting for my brother to come home, we decided to cut and eat the cake immediately!!! :P

Translation: ‘This is not a Christmas cake.’

with apologies to Rene Magritte

I have been putting quirky messages on cakes circa July 2008 . I had planned to ask them to ice either ‘Ceci n’est pas un gâteau de Noël.’ or ‘This is not a Christmas cake.’ on my cake.

But alas, the staff at Rive Gauche said that they were too busy to do so, and one had to order three days in advance just to have words written on their cake. So the above image is the next best way to express my original concept.

And of course it is not a Christmas cake! It is not a Christmas cake, and more importantly, it is merely an image of a cake bought for Christmas. :)

I was inspired, of course, by Rene Magritte and his famous ‘This is not a pipe.

One of the aunties at Rive Gauche told me she had a few Christmas decorations to spare, so she stuck them on my cake! :)

The Guanaja cake has a crunchy biscuit base, alternate layers of chocolate mousse and chocolate sponge, and a layer of heavier dark chocolate on top. It is extremely rich and chocolatey, and every mouthful is heaven! Truly a gorgeous cake!!!

Meanwhile, never eat anything chocolatey without a cup of hot unsweetened tea in hand! The two are undoubtedly a match made in heaven!!!

Last but not least, the cake was so big that it lasted us almost four days!!!

1 Response to “ceci n’est pas un gâteau de noël”



  1. 1 happy father’s day! « q u i r k y h i l l Trackback on Monday, 18 June, 2012 at 1:35 am

Leave a Reply

wordpress visitor counter

