viva mexico

Went out with a newfound friend G (pseudo-date? :P) on Friday after work. First we went to watch All’s Well Ends Well 2012 at Cineleisure. It’s a romantic comedy with a (naturally!) happy ending, and nothing too thought provoking. The most notable thing about the movie is that Donnie Yen proved that he can do comedy really well!

After the movie, we walked down Orchard Road and went to Viva Mexico in Cuppage Terrace for a late dinner/supper! Apparently, G had wanted to try this place, which does Mexican cuisine (obviously! :P),  for some time. This is the first time I had Mexican food, not counting the one time I had Taco Bell during secondary school.

There was a heavy stone bowl on each table and I wondered what it was for.

First we had an appetizer, nachos with crabmeat.

So this was what the stone bowl was for! To hold a small dish of dip!

The nachos were cheesy, crunchy and rather addictive. They went well with the mildly spicy dip. Couldn’t really taste the crabmeat, though.

Then my main course came! Chicken enchiladas!

My chicken enchiladas were served with green and red sauces (you were supposed to choose one but I asked for both :D), cheese, salad, rice, refried beans, sour cream and guacamole. It was a very interesting dish as I’d never had anything like this before.

Wondered why G’s main course was taking so long to come and he told me that he did not order one as the waiter left before he could do so. ???!!! Um, okay then. Asked if he wanted to order one but he said no.

As I had never tried Mexican food before this, I have no idea how authentic the food at Viva Mexico was. It wasn’t too bad, though. But the flavours were rather mild and nothing really stood out. Mexican food is rather rich in carbs, but if I had a craving for carbs, I’d go for dimsum. :P

Viva Mexico
23 Cuppage Road
Cuppage Terrace
Singapore 229453
+65 6681 6670

After that we took the MRT, and G went all the way with me to my stop. We got off together, and he would have walked me home if I hadn’t told him that it was late and he should get home.

Thanks G for treating me to the movie and dinner! :)

Leave a Reply

wordpress visitor counter

