a surfeit of pasta

Had our first editorial board dinner this year in Da Paolo Bistro Bar at Rochester Park on Tuesday. The place was mostly alfresco dining and had a really laid back and relaxing atmosphere. Everyone turned up except A/Prof DF and A/Prof CT.

First we had bread, with olive oil and balsamic vinegar……

……and various cold cuts!

There were so many things on the menu that I didn’t know what to order. I usually have meat or fish at such places, so this time I decided to order carbohydrates. The waiter said their Lobster Taglioni Arrabiata was one of their most popular pastas, so I decided to try it.

The taglioni (as an aside, should it be spelt tagliolini instead?) was al dente enough, and came with generous chunks of rock lobster and crayfish. I think it was supposed to be spicy but I didn’t find it spicy at all. Anyhow, I think I prefer pasta in cream-based sauces to tomato-based ones like my taglioni. Overall, it’s not great but still pretty good.

The worst thing (or the best thing, depending on perspective! :P) about my taglioni was actually the portion, which was pretty huge! Hate wasting food, so I made myself finish everything, and nearly burst from a surfeit of pasta!!! :P Honestly, I think I will never order pasta outside ever again.

Dr TYS, who sat on my left, ordered Crab Tagliatelle, which is also one of the restaurant’s bestselling pastas, if I recall correctly.

And this was Dr MC’s Grilled Seafood Board! (He sat opposite Dr TYS.)

And then, dessert! Dr TYS and I shared two desserts, both made of chocolate!!! :D

First we had a Valrhona Chocolate Cake!

This photo shows half the portion as Dr TYS had taken the other half!

The cake wasn’t too bad but I wished it had been richer (more chocolate!) though.

And we also had aDark Chocolate Souffle, served with whipped cream and berries!

The chocolate souffle was light and airy but still chocolatey. It went pretty well with the whipped cream, and the tart berries prevented the entire thing from becoming too jelak!

Dr MC had a Chocolate Caramel Bar with Salted Peanut Nougat.

My boss G had a Baked Lemon Tart with Heavy Cream and Sorbet.

It was surprisingly good. Sweet and light, sour and creamy, chunky and buttery, and cold and refreshing – it was a great combination of textures and flavours! G was unable to finish it so Dr MC helped her eat most of it, all the while muttering that he really shouldn’t! :P

Da Paolo Bistro Bar
3 Rochester Park
Singapore 139214
+ 65 6774 5537

0 Responses to “a surfeit of pasta”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

wordpress visitor counter

