on course

Went on the very first course of my working life from yesterday to today. The course, Project Management Essentials, was held at the British Council branch in HDB Hub.

11 people attended the class, and we sat in three large groups. A majority were from the public service.

The instructor, Kate, did a bit of lecturing, using an amazing interactive touchscreen whiteboard. (You needed to use a special pen to do the touching, though!) I had never seen anything like that before! And the 11 of us went through a whole gamut of activities, activities and more activities, both group and individual, and all rather fun, designed to underline the principles taught.

I didn’t really know what to expect when I first stepped into class yesterday, but I can say now that I learnt quite a lot and had tons of fun. For that, a great deal of credit goes to my enthusiastic (and noisy!) bunch of coursemates. My group mate Mabel, who sat next to me, commented that the people in this course were all very open, unlike some others she’d attended, where the people were quiet and unresponsive.

At the end of today’s session, Kate handed out certificates and said something nice and encouraging to everyone.

When she gave me my certificate, she said that  I have leadership qualities (because yesterday when I had a bit of free time, I walked over to the touchscreen whiteboard and started poking it because I thought it would respond to human touch, and then Kate came over and handed me the special pen needed) and I got things done (because yesterday when we were supposed to do a paired planning activity, my partner had to attend to an urgent business call and I got everything done within five minutes on my own). :D

To be honest, I don’t know if I’ll ever see any of my coursemates again, but I’m glad to have the privilege of knowing them for a couple of days. Thank you very much!

Leave a Reply

wordpress visitor counter

