teatime

After our visit to the museum, Zhiqi and I decided to have tea. We walked and walked and walked all the way to 15 Minutes Cafe in LASALLE College of the Arts. Alas, when we reached the place, we found out that it was closed on Sundays!!!

So we hung around LASALLE a bit before deciding what to do next. This was the first time I’d ever been there. The buildings are all clear glass framed with black metal, all angles and no straight sides. When I stood in the middle of the campus, the buildings around me resembled cavernous mountains ready to topple over any moment. What an amazing place!

Eventually we walked to Bugis Junction. Since I said I wanted to have milk tea, we went to a cha chan teng there called Wong Kok!

There were so many types of milk tea on the menu, and since their names did not reveal how one was different from the next, I just ordered one of the cheapest! Haha!

My cold milk tea ($3.60) and ZQ’s hot almond tea ($2.70)! What a smart way of making the tea really cold without diluting it! The tea was thick, rich and good!

ZQ’s peanut butter french toast ($3.30).

My luncheon meat sandwiches. The slices of luncheon meat were miserably thin and the bread was kind of dry. But I guess you can’t expect too much for $3.20 (before taxes!). :P

We were seated at table 13, and while we were eating I suddenly noticed that the table next to us was numbered 15! We looked around the vicinity and realized that there was no table 4 nor 24 either! When a waiter stopped at our table, I asked him about it and he confirmed that none of the tables had a number containing 4.

I guess it’s most likely because the managemenet is superstitious about this number, as 4 in Chinese is 四, which is a homonym for death (死) in both Mandarin (si) and Cantonese (sei). But this is the first time I’ve ever encountered this in a Chinese eatery. In future I will take note if this is the case in other Chinese restaurants as well. :D

(Incidentally, I have encountered something similar in a more Western-oriented establishment. When I visited Hotel Re! with my colleagues previously, we took the lift, and its panel of buttons indicated that there was no 13th floor. However, I’ve never noticed this elsewhere as well. I shall be more observant!)

Total bill came to $15.05 after service charge and GST. I’d go back to Wong Kok for the milk tea but definitely not the luncheon meat sandwiches!

Wong Kok Char Chan Teng
200 Victoria Street
#02-50
Bugis Junction
Singapore 188021
+65 6336 2003

0 Responses to “teatime”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

wordpress visitor counter

