sweet teeth

Had nasi ayam penyet (smashed fried chicken rice) without nasi with a lot of chilli today for lunch today. When I had finished, my mouth seemed like it was on fire, so naturally I needed something cold to cool it down.

What else but dessert? Went to my favourite dessert stall and ordered red rubies, but the auntie informed me that the red rubies weren’t in yet. Alas!

So I asked her to recommend something, and she suggested 蜜瓜西米露 (honeydew sago), as it had similar ingredients as red rubies. I replied, ‘随便!’ (‘Anything!’) She said, ‘不可随便,要你喜欢吃!’ (‘Cannot anything, you must like it!’)  To which I replied, ‘随便,因为我没吃过!’ (‘Anything, because I’ve never tried it!’) And so I ended up with a bowl of honeydew sago ($1.50).

The serving of honeydew, sago and coconut milk is quite generous. Somehow, the size and texture of the pieces of honeydew were reminiscent of the red rubies! However, the flavours of this dessert were somehow slightly marred by the addition of honeydew flavoured syrup, which tasted really artificial. Overall, dessert isn’t too bad, but I think I still prefer red rubies. :P

Tian Tian Yuan Dessert House
30 Seng Poh Road
#02-15
Tiong Bahru Market
Singapore 168898

0 Responses to “sweet teeth”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

wordpress visitor counter

