what every tomato dreams of becoming

Joanne wanted to try Mexican food, and eventually settled on Baja Fresh at Rendezvous Hotel Gallery. So Joanne, Serena and I went there for lunch this afternoon. I thought it was going to be a proper restaurant, but it was actually a fast food restaurant. Turns out that this Baja Fresh outlet is actually the first local outpost of the American fast food chain of the same name, and opened only in March this year!

The staff at the counter explained to us the various types of food they served, and I found it all rather confusing. :P

Eventually I managed to order chicken taquitos ($11.95) and a drink ($2.45). Customers were supposed to get the drinks from a dispenser themselves. I took a mixture of Coke, Coke Light and Fanta Orange, and I thought the resulting concoction tasted rather nice! :)

No, we didn’t sit at table 4! That was just a gigantic number sign that the cashier handed me so that they would know where I was sitting and could serve me my food!

We each got a complimentary bowl of nachos, which we ate with different salsas (which were all free flow!). My favourite salsa was Pico de Gallo, which was made of diced tomatoes and some other vegetables. It was not spicy at all, but sourish and appetizing.

Joanne’s mahi mahi (some kind of fish) burrito ($15.95)!

Serena’s shrimp burrito ($14.95)! The menu said that it contained ‘Pico de Gallo’, and she didn’t know what that was until we saw a huge bowl of it at the salsa bar. So she cut her burrito open to dig all the diced tomatoes out, as she does not like tomatoes!

And my chicken taquitos!

Taquitos are rolled up tortillas containing some sort of filling, and mine contained grilled chicken that was mildly spicy but a little on the dry side. They were served with beans, rice, vegetables, guacamole and sour cream. The beans tasted normal and was nothing spectacular. I thought the rice was delicious though! Couldn’t quite figure out its flavours (it was very mildly spiced) but it was really fragrant. And I liked the guacamole and sour cream!!! :D There weren’t enough of both!!! :P

The salsa bar, where you can help yourself to the various salsas. And the words on the wall – ‘What every tomato dreams of becoming’ – is rather cute, but a little sad as well.

This is the second time I’ve had ‘proper’ Mexican food, and my first time was at Viva Mexico. I prefer Baja Fresh as its food is cheaper and slightly better!

Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
9 Bras Basah Road
#01-03
Rendezvous Hotel Gallery
Singapore 189559
+65 6337 7300

0 Responses to “what every tomato dreams of becoming”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

wordpress visitor counter

