affordable art fair

The annual Affordable Art Fair was held at the F1 Pit Building from 15 to 18 November, and I went on Saturday, the third day. It was my first time at this fair! Reached the place slightly after noon, and got a ticket for $13 at the door.

Rushed upstairs headlong into one of the talks I had wanted to attend, on the best ways to frame one’s artwork by a angmoh lady from the Frame Society. Luckily I had missed only slightly less than 15 minutes of the talk, which was quite interesting. The speaker went around pointing to various artworks displayed at their booth and explained their aesthetics. At the end we were all given a small thin glossy booklet of framing tips, which had a recommended retail price was $20.

Later in the afternoon I attended another talk, on how to start an art collection by an angmoh guy from Australian company Art Equity. It was interesting but the speaker just droned on and on without using any visual aids so I tuned out after a while. :P

After the talk ended and I left the room, I realized I had forgotten to ask a question I was planning to. >.< So much later, when I came upon Art Equity’s exhibition booth, I saw the angmoh guy again and decided to ask him my question. I asked if the number a piece is given affects its price. (In case you didn’t know, artworks which can be reproduced, like prints or sculptures,  are often given numbers. For example an artist decides to make 100 copies of a bronze sculpture. The first copy is numbered 1/100, the second 2/100, the third 3/100, and so on and so forth.) The guy said generally no, and prices are still determined by other factors (like the artist’s skills and achievements).

The fair occupied two whole levels of the building, and I spent about four hours wandering through the rooms and checking out every single last booth. There were 85 exhibiting galleries, so I visited 85 booths in all!

Saw many many many amazing pieces and got some ideas for my dream home! Here are some of the pieces I particularly liked:

I found these Renaissance-esque paintings very amusing……

171211

171211 5

And his mate……

171211 4

This would be perfect for a nursery!

171211 3

This was super intriguing! It was from a UK gallery and the artists are Waller Hewett, a married couple with kids (check out their website HERE!). (One of the women at the booth said their pieces were definitely safe for children!) Small coloured felt balls were attached to thin steel wires which were in turn attached to a board. Depends on how you touched the balls, they would vibrate in various ways, giving rise to various visual effects. (A little sign asked us to touch the artwork gently, but even when touched ever so gently, the balls would vibrate really madly! :D) Different coloured balls also affected how the vibrations ‘looked’! Amazing and really cute to boot.
171211 2

These are the perfect accoutrements for a boring white wall!

171211 7

So were the artworks ‘affordable’? Well…… at the end of the day, affordability is relative. I took note of the prices – there were things priced from about $100 (smaller prints) to $10 000 (an large painting). Anyway, I spotted this painting from an American gallery:

171211 6

I thought it looked intriguing enough, and went to check the price. It cost only $200! I thought that was pretty affordable. Alas, I decided not to get it because I didn’t have space to display or even store it. Felt a bit of regret that I had to leave it behind…… will get it if it comes back next year!

Now wondering when I can get my own home…… hopefully sooner than later! :)

Leave a Reply

wordpress visitor counter

