the solitary diner

Solitary dining at Caffe Pralet again. Had a bacon and avocado sandwich, chocolate mousse cheesecake and iced coffee without sugar ($15).

210313

The sandwich was good as usual, but the coffee was too watered down. However I really enjoyed the cake. Its various layers – soft cheese, chocolate mousse, crispy biscuit and hard chocolate topping – combined to form a great dessert.

210313 2

Meanwhile, service at the eatery was simply appalling. It was almost 2 pm and I was the only customer there. Somehow, ALL the staff decided to hide in the kitchen, and I had to keep going to the counter to ask for things. ( Encountered this problem on previous visits but always let it pass.) After serving me, the female Filipino manager immediately rushed to the computer placed at the other end of the dining area to do I-dunno-what. To get her attention, I had to keep raising my voice. Finally, when I got her to serve dessert, she just placed the plate on the table adjoining mine and walked off with barely any eye contact. Ridiculously bad service! Will be boycotting them from now on, and I think I will email them about this too.

Caffe Pralet
17 Eng Hoon Street
#01-03/04
Eng Hoon Mansions
Singapore 169767
+65 6223 5595

0 Responses to “the solitary diner”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

wordpress visitor counter

