luggage, luggage and more luggage

On Saturday evening, I bussed down to the Singapore Expo (which I hadn’t been to since a dinner in late 2006) to check out the John Little Mega Expo Sale. There were a few other sales going on as well, so droves of bargain hunters had descended upon the Expo and there were tons of people crowded both outside and inside.

I turned left instead of right and ended up at the PC Show located at another hall. Decided I might as well go in and take a look. It was a madhouse: it was packed with people everywhere and the noise was simply deafening! After a while, I decided to leave for the John Little sale.

(This was not the first electronics trade fair that I have ever been to, but the first Expo sale I’ve visited proper. Years back, I persuaded my mum to take me to a food fair at the Expo, but when we arrived at the entrance, the sea of visitors scared us witless and so we beat a hasty retreat without even entering.)

Walked all the way back down to the John Little sale. There were far fewer people, and it was relatively quiet, just like the MPH Book Sale right next door. A complete oasis compared to the chaos at the other end!

I immediately made a beeline for the luggage section. There were only a few brands on sale. Tried a few pieces, and found them somewhat flimsy, especially the retractable handles. Pretty colours, though. Left slightly disappointed.

Then after lunch yesterday, I went to the Mega Luggage Fair at the Takashimaya atrium. The place was pretty crowded, but the lack of actual four walls made it seem less claustrophobic. But oh, the amazing array of brands on sale! There was American Tourister, Delsey, Elle, Eminent, Heys, Hush Puppies, New Yorker, Santa Barbara Polo Club, United Colors of Benetton and so on.

I had never thought of luggage as anything but functional until this sale. The luggage, in all shapes, sizes and colours, suddenly became VERY desirable. I walked down the aisles wanting everything. I saw some Heys bags with Romero Britto designs (like these; am a fan of Britto’s art), but alas, sizes were limited. And I saw some other bags that were covered in animal prints, including one stunning leopard print! <3

Eventually, after browsing luggage, luggage and more luggage, I finally settled on an American Tourister small dark purple 21-inch (I think) Elite-Pop Spinner ($98) and a Ypak small red cross body sling bag ($26.90). Went home happy.

Hopefully my new bags will accompany me on many happy trips in future! :D

0 Responses to “luggage, luggage and more luggage”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

wordpress visitor counter

