saving $100k by 30

On 7 July last year, the Straits Times published an article titled ‘Is it possible to have $100k by 30?‘ As I was pursuing my 100k by 26 goal at that time, the headline immediately piqued my interest to read on. In his report, journalist Jonathan Kwok made a few assumptions and calculations and declared that it was completely possible. I recall reading plenty of sceptical and cynical responses to his piece online.

Some time later, I stumbled upon two local finance bloggers who also wrote about Kwok’s article (Cheerfulegg and Investment Moats). Each proposed their own set of assumptions and calculations, and also concluded that saving $100k by 30 was indeed possible.

(Incidentally, I recently came across a rather interesting post at Singapore 2B – on how to save $400 000 in 60 years.)

And as for my take on this……

In my case, I have been saving close to an average of $20k annually since I started working in December 2010, after graduating from university at 23. (And my starting salary was nowhere near the starting salary of $3050 that Kwok proposed for his hypothetical case study!) Thrift and discipline are definite musts!

So $20k multiplied by roughly six years would be $120k. After deducting my study loan of about $25k, that would still leave a respectable $95k. And I didn’t take into account pay rises and so on. So yes, even if my parents had not paid my university fees nor given me an endowment policy, I think I would have been able to hit $100k by 30 anyway.

Of course, while all of  us believe that $100k by 30 is entirely plausible, your mileage may vary. Then again, perhaps what an anonymous reader commented in the Cheerfulegg post is quite enlightening:

I think its focus on $100,000 creates an all or nothing mentality. Between $20,000 (reasonably low figure) and $100,000 there are a good 80,000 other numbers a person could end up at and each will be better than $20,000.

Ultimately each person should have a target that he/she is happy with and that he can achieve with reasonably conscious effort and of course start making that effort. E.g. If someone has plans to get married before 30 there is no way he can save up $100,000. He should not even be investing in the stock market because a wedding is a short term commitment. Perhaps even $20,000 would be hard.

7 Responses to “saving $100k by 30”


  1. 1 Kyith Monday, 8 September, 2014 at 7:31 am

    I think establish a conservative estimate and a optimistic estimate. May i enquire what age did you start working. looks splendid that a young mind is able to detached from what most want and put away large part of savings.

    • 2 quirkyhill Monday, 8 September, 2014 at 10:06 am

      started working at 23 after graduating from university :)

      • 3 Kyith Monday, 8 September, 2014 at 9:02 pm

        haha i know i shouldn’t guess a ladies age but that would make you 27 years old. its hard to imagine a E not going out often, which surprised me that for an EN, you can do it setting aside savings. What was the motivating factor? Are most of your friends like that?

        • 4 quirkyhill Monday, 8 September, 2014 at 11:04 pm

          it’s okay, i’m quite open about my age… i already mentioned in the previous post that i turned 27 in july. :)

          anyway, NTJs are long range thinkers who usually set big goals, so i think i never not much difficulty setting a long range big goal – financial independence by my mid 30s – and setting aside sizable savings to reach it. and my motivation for this goal? my secret ambition is actually to wake up at noon every day… :D

          also my E is not very strong, so staying at home (like an I) was no problem for me. and sometimes, you’ve just got to make some sacrifices.

          lastly, i have NO idea about my friends’ financial statuses, and i think it’s best to stay that way!

  2. 6 lioyeo Tuesday, 9 September, 2014 at 9:51 pm

    Thanks for the link and glad you found my post useful! Like Kyith said, super admirable that you managed to sock away $20K a year right off the bat. Shows that how much you earn is often just half the story – sometimes how much you save can make all the difference :)


Leave a Reply

wordpress visitor counter

