throwing letter

This morning I tendered my resignation to my biggest boss M. Before I entered his office, I thought that I could coolly pass the letter to him and then just walk out. Turns out, I couldn’t…… I started tearing the moment I sat down. 顿时百感交集: relief, joy, sadness and a multitude of emotions washed over me. It was exactly like a phrase I had once used in my primary school Chinese compos: ‘打翻五味瓶’……

My letter was a simple announcement of my resignation, and the rationale I gave was: “As a female teacher from Henan, China, recently wrote in her resignation note of just ten words: ‘世界那么大,我想去看看’!” My boss accepted the document, and finally the deed was done.

PS I wonder why resigning is also known as ‘throwing letter’ in local parlance, which strikes me as being rather negative. Is it because it is nearly always carried out in unhappiness, when the employee is at the end of their tether?

0 Responses to “throwing letter”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

wordpress visitor counter

