one last hurrah

So this morning I made my way to work as usual, even though my last day was yesterday, to finish clearing up my desk. (Last week, when my colleague S was on medical leave once again, I was trying to pack my table, my boss told me to stop and cover S’s work instead. Her exact words: ‘Clearing of workstation should be done during lunch or after work.’ Like what? What kind of boss says that? Now you know one of the major reasons for my departure.)

Finished my great decluttering operation around noon. The junk I discarded completely filled one black trash bag. Decided not to go for lunch and composed beautifully phrased farewell messages to over 200 writers I had worked with in the past 2.5 years, my editorial board, and my colleagues.

Finally, at close to 5 pm, I called for a taxi, said by goodbyes to everyone in the office, and went home with 12 bags of stuff (not including the two more that I had brought home yesterday).

To my next great adventure!

***

And this is the email I sent to my editorial board:

Subject: A great adventure, a fond farewell

To my nearest and dearest Ed Board (both past and present),

With both excitement and regret, I would like to let you know that my last day with SMA was Monday, 8 June.

This was my first job. And it’s been an amazing 4.5 years (December 2010 – June 2015)! (Hopefully SMA News is now in a slightly better place than before I started!)

I would like to express my heartfelt appreciation to all of you for your wisdom, patience, guidance, good humour, bad humour and everything in between! I am very, very, very glad to have had the opportunity to work with all of you. I also hope that I have been suitably entertaining and helped made your job as editorial board members a little easier. Accompanying you to all sorts of interviews; attending lively dinners with you; listening to all your perspectives (life, healthcare, travel, food, wine, the whole gamut); answering your SMSes at 1 am on weekday nights; editing your articles (sometimes overenthusiastically); bringing your ideas to reality and then print; and yes even the occasional scrapes and scrabbles over 55 issues… truly, truly, truly, THNKS FR TH MMRS!!!

And in the weirdest of ways, I think what I’ll miss most is chasing all of you for articles (and other stuff)!

For future correspondence with SMA News, please email my colleague S at (her email).

I will be moving on to new ventures in medical data digitization and fund management. If you would like to stay in touch, you can reach me at (my email).

Thank you once more, and I wish you the best in bringing SMA News to even greater heights, and also to all your future endeavours! To good health and good fortune! May the force be with you! Live long and prosper! Till we meet again!

‘If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put the foundations under them.’ – Henry David Thoreau, Walden

Lots of love,
(my name)

0 Responses to “one last hurrah”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

wordpress visitor counter

