a love of……

One of the more curious things that four years of secondary school instilled in me is a love of…… filing. Yes, you read right. Filing.

Back then most of the teachers would collect our files for each subject, in the middle and close to the end of the school year, to check that all our handouts and assignments were in order. Imagine the number of files they would have to go through! We’d get a score for the condition of our file, which would count towards our final grade. It seemed like a really straightforward way to get full marks, so I’d always put my file together diligently. (Proper filing also made it easier to revise when the end of year exams came around – which I guess was probably the teachers’ point.) I’m quite proud to say I usually got full marks or something close to it.

13 years after graduating, I still enjoy punching holes in my documents (mainly personal finance these days) and arranging them in the right files. Ah, the joys of filing!

0 Responses to “a love of……”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

wordpress visitor counter

