back to school

Rushing to NUS for a 9 am lesson and ending up being late (thankfully, a few others were even later than I was!) certainly brought back memories of the bad ol’ days. Reliving horrid history aside, my very first Kristang lesson this morning was a blast.

At one point, I asked the teacher Kevin if Kristang had any inflections, and he said no, which made it quite simple to learn (which means that it’s probably an analytic language). During the break, one middle-aged lady (who works at the university) told me she thought I was a teacher when she heard me ask about inflections. Haha!

We also played a number of fun games to reinforce the grammar. One was going over to another group to ask them what languages they spoke – all in simple Kristang, of course Our guest teacher, an elderly Eurasian called Mr Bernard Mesenas, commented that I was very serious during this activity, which was very good. :D

(And this is the first time I’m doing a ‘third’ language, not counting studying Japanese at the Ministry of Education Language Centre way back when I was in Secondary 1. The journey from the centre to home was long and tiring, and I gave up the ghost after four months of twice-weekly lessons.)

0 Responses to “back to school”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

wordpress visitor counter

